This ‘First Report on Technology Business Incubation 2009’ in India reflects the input from the various Science & Technology Entrepreneurs Park (STEP) and Technology Business Incubators (TBI) that have been promoted by the National Science & Technology Entrepreneurship Development Board (NSTEDB), Department of Science & Technology, Government of India. The report has been compiled and prepared by the Indian STEPs and Business incubators Association (ISBA) with the support from the NSTEDB. A report of this nature is due to the untiring effort of not just individuals but also organizations and other stake holders.

We wish to thank the NSTEDB, for having not just supported this initiative, but for the proactive role they have played so far in championing the cause of Business Incubation in this Country. The role played by Sri. H.K. Mittal, Advisor and Head, NSTEDB gave us immense confidence and motivation while formulating this report. Dr. Anita Gupta, Scientist – ‘E’, NSTEDB very painstakingly went through the data, the chapters and gave valuable suggestions that went a long way in making this report in the form that you see. A special word of thanks is due to the Chairman, Prof. S.K. Joshi and expert members of the National Expert Advisory Committee for STEPs/TBIs for having suggested critical inputs that helped us to structure this report.

This report would not have received the inputs without the excellent cooperation we received from all the
STEPs and TBIs and the respective Incubation Managers, especially those from the older STEPs and business incubators, who despite high work pressures, took out lots of precious time to provide us with all the necessary information.

We also thank Mr. Mohit Malik, of Anoova Consulting who authored some of the chapters of this report, Mr. Vidur Chhabra and Mrs. Radhika Chhabra of Hatch Design for designing this report, Mr. Abhijit Roy and his team at Aapna Infotheek (an incubatee company) for designing and developing the CD’s of the report, the staff of JSSATE-STEP, Noida and the ISBA Secretarial staff for their valuable contribution in collecting, collating and presenting the data for this report.

Last but not the least, we thank our former President Dr. P.K.B. Menon, the current President Sri. R.M.P. Jawahar, Vice President Sri. Arindam Dutta, Secretary Dr. Rajendra Jagdale and the Executive Council Members of ISBA for their constant encouragement and support during this period of writing and compiling of this report. We also thank all others who have not been quoted, but have directly and indirectly helped us to make this report.